The development of a child can be divided into 5 main areas:  Spiritual, Intellectual, Physical, Social and Emotional. 

We strive to ensure all children reach their true potential in each of these areas in a happy, relaxed and secure environment. 
We follow a thematic approach, each theme incorporates: language, mathematics, science and life skills.
The Grade R groups are following the new curriculum Caps:  Curriculum and Assessment Policy Statement.


The children have 2 language rings each session incorporating: stories, drama, rhymes, discussion rings, listening and comprehension skills and pre writing and reading skills.
They are introduced to Afrikaans as a second language.


This is taught through concrete experiences. 
Numeracy: counting forwards and backwards; shape and patterns
Number concepts: e.g. more/less.
Length, measuring with parts of their body
Mass, comparing light, heavy, heavier
Capacity, comparison of various containers
Time, parts of day, sequencing

Computer Literacy

The Grade R groups learn to use the computer confidently and skillfully.

Life Skills

1. Religious Education

We start our day with a Bible or Moral story and have class discussions about them. We include them into our themes where possible. We discuss and celebrate the various feast days throughout the Church calendar.

2. Art

The children are encouraged to use a variety of mediums to develop their creativity.

3. Sport

The children follow a programme designed to introduce a wide range of sporting activities and to develop their gross motor skills.

4. Music

The children enjoy several different forms of singing lessons.  Music is taught in class groups using a wide variety of instruments and involves making instruments.

© Veritas College